money

How Marxism today has to read Das Kapital and how it has to analyze the current capital relations.

Already for Marx, an important consequence concerning the extraction of surplus value in commodity production is that surplus value is transformed into what we call today an asset. The asset in this context is a means by which surplus value …

How Marxism today has to read Das Kapital and how it has to analyze the current capital relations.

Financial Capital in the 21th Century / Introduction

published by Palgrave The world economy is still in a phase of secular stagnation with persistently low growth rates of real gross domestic product.[1] The postwar litanies of boundless economic growth repeatedly preached by the representatives of capital and the …

Financial Capital in the 21th Century / Introduction

Excerpt from Chapter One of Frank Engster’s Book: Das Geld als Maß, Mittel und Methode Das Rechnen mit der Identität der Zeit

The question of the book is how a radical critique of capitalism is possible when critique in the tradition of Kant and Hegel means that the criticized subject itself has to “give” the measure of its critique. The thesis is …

Excerpt from Chapter One of Frank Engster’s Book: Das Geld als Maß, Mittel und Methode Das Rechnen mit der Identität der Zeit

Global finance as capital rule. The “creative” role of the ECB

Spyros LapatsiorasUniversity of Crete, spirosla@gmail.comJohn MiliosNational Technical University of Athens, john.milios@gmail.com1. The prevailing heterodox approaches to neoliberalism and financializationA crucial aspect of many heterodox approaches to modern capitalism, finacializationand crisis is the idea that the domination of neoliberalism and of …

Global finance as capital rule. The “creative” role of the ECB

Capitalism with Derivatives. A Political Economy of Financial Derivatives, Capital and Class

Capitalism with Derivatives. A Political Economy of Financial Derivatives, Capital and Class, by D. Bryan and M. Rafferty, New York: Palgrave-MacMillan 2006. $ 85; pp. viii, 236 The book is a vitally interesting and innovative approach to finance, focusing on …

Capitalism with Derivatives. A Political Economy of Financial Derivatives, Capital and Class

A General Theory of Value and Money (Part 1: Foundations of an Axiomatic Theory)

This article sets out the foundatons of an axiomatc theory of value and money. Its purpose is to equip the public to explain the four facts that define the modern capitalist economy: the long-term post-war decline of the economies of …

A General Theory of Value and Money (Part 1: Foundations of an Axiomatic Theory)

Scroll to Top