marx

Notes on Anwar Shaikh:  Capitalism: Competition, Conflict, Crises

The systemic order of the capital economy is generated in and by continuous disorder: just as order cannot be equated with the optimum of regularity, disorder cannot be identified with the absence of order or with pure chaos. According to …

Notes on Anwar Shaikh:  Capitalism: Competition, Conflict, Crises

How Marxism today has to read Das Kapital and how it has to analyze the current capital relations.

Already for Marx, an important consequence concerning the extraction of surplus value in commodity production is that surplus value is transformed into what we call today an asset. The asset in this context is a means by which surplus value …

How Marxism today has to read Das Kapital and how it has to analyze the current capital relations.

Seeking the “Spirit of Capitalism”: The German Historical School and the Controversies about the Origins of Capitalism

The question of the origins or genesis of capitalism preoccupied thewriters of the so-called German Historical School and led to fiercedisputes between them in the first three decades of thetwentieth century. Its “background” was Marx’s theory ofcapitalism and its genesis …

Seeking the “Spirit of Capitalism”: The German Historical School and the Controversies about the Origins of Capitalism

Financial Capital in the 21th Century / Introduction

published by Palgrave The world economy is still in a phase of secular stagnation with persistently low growth rates of real gross domestic product.[1] The postwar litanies of boundless economic growth repeatedly preached by the representatives of capital and the …

Financial Capital in the 21th Century / Introduction

Value

“Value” is a concept structured by confusing relations between its social-ethical and its economic meanings (“I agree with your values”; “the sweater is a great value at that price”). The two meanings cannot be kept separate, but the negotiation of …

Value

Chapter on Dialectics, Materialism, Change: From Epicurus to Marx via Aristotle

Marx’s reading of Greek atomism informs his uncompromisingly materialist stance, something we will inspect more closely further on in the chapter. At this point, suffice it to say that the contradiction that underpins Epicurean atomism, according to young Marx, is …

Chapter on Dialectics, Materialism, Change: From Epicurus to Marx via Aristotle

Excerpt from Chapter One of Frank Engster’s Book: Das Geld als Maß, Mittel und Methode Das Rechnen mit der Identität der Zeit

The question of the book is how a radical critique of capitalism is possible when critique in the tradition of Kant and Hegel means that the criticized subject itself has to “give” the measure of its critique. The thesis is …

Excerpt from Chapter One of Frank Engster’s Book: Das Geld als Maß, Mittel und Methode Das Rechnen mit der Identität der Zeit

Scroll to Top