value

Capitalizing a future unsustainable: Finance, energy and the fate of market civilization

Liberal capitalist polities are being held up as the ultimate civilizational achievement precisely at a point in time when the energy-demanding built environments and growth imperatives of these societies are threatened by global climate change and the coming end of …

Capitalizing a future unsustainable: Finance, energy and the fate of market civilization

Excerpt from Chapter One of Frank Engster’s Book: Das Geld als Maß, Mittel und Methode Das Rechnen mit der Identität der Zeit

The question of the book is how a radical critique of capitalism is possible when critique in the tradition of Kant and Hegel means that the criticized subject itself has to “give” the measure of its critique. The thesis is …

Excerpt from Chapter One of Frank Engster’s Book: Das Geld als Maß, Mittel und Methode Das Rechnen mit der Identität der Zeit

Creative Industries, Value Theory and Michael Heinrich’s New Reading of Marx

This article utilises the new reading of Marx found in the work of Michael Heinrich to ana-lyse the creative industries. It considers the role played in the production of value by the labour that takes place in the sphere of …

Creative Industries, Value Theory and Michael Heinrich’s New Reading of Marx

A General Theory of Value and Money (Part 1: Foundations of an Axiomatic Theory)

This article sets out the foundatons of an axiomatc theory of value and money. Its purpose is to equip the public to explain the four facts that define the modern capitalist economy: the long-term post-war decline of the economies of …

A General Theory of Value and Money (Part 1: Foundations of an Axiomatic Theory)

A revaluation of value? The politics of value between populism and pandemic

Former Bank of England governor Mark Carney’s BBC Radio 4 Reith Lectures have restimulated interest in the topic of ‘value’. For Carney,  the first decades of a century of crisis have been characterised  by a continuing commitment to abstract ‘subjective’ …

A revaluation of value? The politics of value between populism and pandemic

Unbridgeable: Why Political Economists Cannot Accept Capital as Power

The theory of capital as power (CasP) is radically different from conventional political economy. In the conventional view, mainstream as well as heterodox, capital is seen a ‘real’ economic entity engaged in the production of goods and services, and capitalism …

Unbridgeable: Why Political Economists Cannot Accept Capital as Power

Marx After Growth #1 An Introduction to Marx’s Critique

This four-part lecture series asks what the Marxian critique of political economy can tell us about the twenty-first century, an historical moment marked by deindustrialization, economic stagnation, growing labour superfluity, and a political landscape in which the figure of the …

Marx After Growth #1 An Introduction to Marx’s Critique

Scroll to Top